Home > Appreciation, Challenge > Passing Time and Tolls

Passing Time and Tolls


I enjoy traveling and I enjoy driving, but I don’t enjoy paying highway tolls.  One way I try to diffuse that annoyance is by hoarding coins whenever I travel with the intent of paying every returning toll entirely in loose change.

I highly recommend the activity–it’s a fun little counting game, it keeps those coins in business, and there really is a rush associated with using 18 assorted coins in a transaction.

But be warned–if you are travelling along the Hudson River in New York state, on I-87, and you decide to get off at Saugerties, one of those toll-booth operators does not like pennies.  I mean, really, really, really does not like pennies.  Especially more than 40 of them.  Trust me.

Click here to see more in Appreciation.

www.MrHonner.com

  1. September 22, 2010 at 11:03 pm

    I know exactly who you mean. I was driving back from New Paltz to Saugerties one day and had forgotten to make sure I had enough cash for the toll. I had to scrounge for pennies around the car to make up the total. The toll booth operator was very frustrated with me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

