Home > Appreciation, Resources > Number Dictionary

Number Dictionary


This is a fun little website that offers information on numbers from 1 to 1000000:

www.numdic.com

For example, I put in one of my favorite numbers, 144, and saw four ways to write 144 as a difference of squares (always a useful little trick)  and five ways to write it as the sum of primes (in case we were trying to verify Goldbach’s conjecture).

I find the Mayan representation of 144 really cool, and the Roman Numeral representation will make this website handy for crossword puzzles!

Click here to see more in Resources.

www.MrHonner.com

  1. January 2, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    Who ever knew 23 was the difference of two squares, being 23 = 12^2 – 11^2. Well, I bet someone must have known. I guess I haven’t thought about it, although I love the number 23.

  2. January 3, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    Just because of that absurd movie, I imagine.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

