Home > Appreciation, Photography > Math Photo: (Sine) Waves on the Beach

Math Photo: (Sine) Waves on the Beach


While on vacation, I passed some of my time looking for math on the beach, and I saw a sine wave creeping up the shore.

I thought I might be looking too hard for something mathematical, thereby seeing things that weren’t really there.  Thankfully, Geogebra is well-equipped to justify my observations. 

Or perhaps it’s more accurate to say that Geogebra helps enable my obsessions.

Click here to see more in Appreciation.

www.MrHonner.com

  1. April 12, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    This is so beautiful!

    Check out what we do in the Math Trek group: http://naturalmath.wikispaces.com/MathTrekResearchTriangle

    Maybe we can collaborate somehow?

  2. April 12, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    The Math Treks look interesting–essentially a photo-stream-based game for capturing math images? Fun!

    • April 13, 2011 at 8:35 am

      We meet once a week with a local math club and go to different locations, with different topics explored there. What people tell me is kids start noticing math ideas everywhere.

  3. April 13, 2011 at 9:48 am

    That’s great. I feel like my project has had a similar effect on students–they were definitely seeing the math all around them! I’ll post some of the student work shortly.

  1. January 9, 2011 at 1:12 pm
  2. February 28, 2011 at 9:06 am
  3. April 13, 2011 at 11:52 pm

Leave a Reply

